top of page

Project 52: Shoot from the Hip

Beautiful Beasties is an international assocation for proffesional pet photographers. Within this network there is a creative project called 'Project 52' and for 52 weeks a theme is selected and each photographer photographs their interpretation for the theme. This weeks theme is 'Shoot from the Hip'.

'Shoot from the Hip' is a technique that is more so used in street photography. The photograph is taken at the hip without the photographer looking through the view finder, it is a quick method to capture something from a different angle. It also produces an image that appears more candid.

After trying this method today, I think I prefer to kneel and squat to capture different angles rather than shoot from the hip. I generally like to have my images more composed, but having used this method today shows that we can create an entire different image by our methods.

With this technquie I think it is important to inclue different elements such as an interesting background, good lighting or leading focal lines as I have employed in the above photo.

I also tried photographing from the subjects hip, using a similar technique of not looking through the view finder. I believe this technique could be effective on different locations such as a beach or lookout.

I am interested to see what the other Beautiful Beasties have photographed. Lets see what Cincinnati pet photographer, Suzi Pix Photography photographed for this weeks theme.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page