top of page

Project 52: Then and Now

Beautiful Beasties is an international assocation for proffesional pet photographers. Within this network there is a creative project called 'Project 52' and for 52 weeks a theme is selected and each photographer photographs their interpretation for the theme. This weeks theme is 'Then and Now'.

My interest in photographing pets began in high school when I was given photography assignments. These assignments would be given as homework, so when I got home from school, I would take my camera outside and see what I could photograph. Our assigments had set themes, such as using photography of items to spell out words, I remember I was taking photos of farm equipment to spell 'Farm' using ladders etc. As I was walking around the farm, my pets would follow me through the paddocks. I would always end up distracted from my assignment as my cat Pippa would pose perfectly as she followed me. The photo below is of Pippa whilst I was roaming through the paddock for the right machinery to form a letter. Pippa is sitting on top of a pipe, among stinging nestles.

Above: Pippa posing down the paddock and distracting me from my photography assignents.

Pippa is very photogenic, and hence I became distracted with most photography assignements, and began photographing my pets more and more for fun.

During highschool I was employed as a photography assistant. From my journey studying Animal Science I became interested in the interaction between humans and and animals and I now focus my photography on demonstrating the relationship between humans and animals and the role in our lives.

Above: Pippa and I (taken at least 5 years after the above photo).

To see some other examples of then and now check out Tara Sutherland, New Zealand Pet Photography, Hamilton.

Stay tuned for the photos released Fri at 8pm Australian Melbourne Time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page