top of page

Paw Prints: The Rebrand

"Pets can leave paw prints on our hearts"

In aim of creating a logo that represented something natural and unique, Pippa's paw print has formed our signature logo.

Pippa was found as a wild kitten and has spent her years on the farm ever since. Pippa was the most loyal of cats and followed me every where, including through flooded paddock. So every where I went with a camera on the farm, she followed. And she become a popular feature of my photography snaps in my childhood.

We couldn't use just any paw print to represent and reflect the brand. So you can see below, how we created our cherished memory.

DIY Paw Print: The creation

Materials:

- Non-Toxic Ink Pad

- Paper of choice (I would recommend a large piece of paper with greater GSM)

- Towel

- Your loved furry friend

- (Patience)

Steps:

It is always important to put the needs of your pet first. By integrating methods that I know would be less stressful for my cat, we were able to achieve paw prints without any stress for my cat Pippa. We had several attempts as you can see by our A3 paper below.

1. My cat Pippa likes to knead with her claws, and prefers to be held in what I call a "parrot" position. I normally hold her without her paws being able to make skin contact, to avoid any accidental claws, so I was able to hold her as I would normally pat her, and place the ink pad below her feet. Of course with many pats in between. I then placed her on the piece of paper as I put her down so that walking would allow her to make the prints. Never did I need to hold her paw and force it. As it was a muddy day at the farm, she was then able to walk through the mud and puddles to clean her feet. However for indoor cats, you may need to ensure they are completely clean before leaving paw tracks down the hall.

2. For a normal framed print, I would suggest cropping the paper and framing as you wish. A calligraphy text of your pets name can look great with the paw print as a reminder and an extra personal touch.

3. To create a digital logo, I photographed (or scan) to create a modifiable file. In Photoshop I was able to select the inked areas by using "Select" > "Color Range" Adjusting the settings, and then "Ok". Then by inverting the selection I was able to delete the background to have a vector to sign photographs. Unfortunately for a logo style the image needed to be tidied for easy of printing in different media.

This new look reflects our goals and mottos and is something to treasure of my loyal cat Pippa.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page